I Live in Uruguay

The title says it all. I’m an American living in Uruguay and at the prodding of a particularly curious friend I’ve decided to chronicle some of my experiences of life here. I will focus on the micro–what’s different in day to day life rather than the larger things you can find out by going to a newspaper or any other site.

Starting with the following highly interesting tidbits.

Today there was a strange rainstorm. There were 3 thunderbolts. They were loud and sudden and suddenly stopped without the rolling thunder for that traditionally precedes and follows such heavenly manifestations. The wind was something fierce.

The results of this brief but torrential downpour were the following:
1. My internet died for 30 seconds.
2. Our cable died and is currently still dead.

The curiosities here are twofold:
1. The cable company only has one tech support number and it’s busy. Apparently here they don’t have PBX systems to put people on hold indefinitely when the cable dies. This isn’t such a bad idea. I feel much less frustrated just getting a busy signal than the traditional American experience of being on hold for an hour or so to find out that everyone’s cable went out and they’re working on it.

2. Well, this has nothing to do with it but you can get a dang good cable package for 30 bucks a month here. MonteCable is the company.

Tonight the plan is steak. Later I will elaborate on steak but suffice it to say I am happy with tonights plans.

17 Comments

Filed under life, montevideo, uruguay, utilities

17 responses to “I Live in Uruguay

  1. ¡El cable ha vuelto, de modo que puedo practicar vista español ahora. ..yay!

  2. el flaco

    that sounds like a strange storm. i can’t wait to hear about the steaks.

  3. Looks like some good things going on down south.

  4. Scott

    I’ve heard from one other Expat living in Uruguay, but he doesn’t seem to watch much TV. He says most foreign shows and movies are aired in their original language, with subtitles- is this accurate? or example, if I’m addicted to a given show in the states (say, Heroes) and I’m still learning Spanish, would I be able to watch without losing my mind?

  5. I’m not a TV watcher either, but I do know from a certain other occupant of our home that most foreign shows are indeed aired in their native language w/ subtitles. I also know that they are passing the FIRST season of the OC and the second season of Lost right now on TV… in other words, Heroes will be on in about 2 years 🙂

    That having been said, the aforementioned occupant of our house also enjoys Heroes and gets it on the iTunes Music (and TV) Store for $1.99 an episode. From what I here there are also other, less expensive ways to acquire such episodes soon after they air.

  6. Fabiana and Ben

    Hi,
    I lived in Uruguay as a child/teenager, now in NY, your descriptions are pretty accurate. I can’t wait to visit and eat the delicious food there…I disagree with your opinion of food shopping, I think certain food stores have much better quality and variety that in the states, keep exploring. Good luck.

  7. Haha fair enough FabianaAndBen, I agree that a lot of the food (notably some of the meat, ham and cheese) is higher quality here than in the states but a bigger variety? You’ll have to work hard to convince me of that.

  8. Anthony

    Just stumbled here, we are about to visit UY for the second time, tired with most mainstream vacation locales, we had a nice time with anyone who tolerated my limited Spanish. People are cool and life seems really laid back. We moved to the midwest from the E coast, and I still can’t get used to it. Neat site, thanks for doin’ it.

  9. Steve Lieberman

    Thanks for the great site! I was wondering if you
    could write about used cars in Montevideo and the
    cost and also the cost of full coverage insurance.
    What is the cost of gasoline and diesel per gallon?
    Are diesel cars more practical? A six or seven year
    old car would be a good example.
    The best neighborhoods to live in would be of great
    interest and the average cost of a house.
    Thank you for the great info and for any of the
    above information
    Regards,
    Steve

  10. Amanda Glen

    Hello,
    I am a student at the University of Texas in Austin and was wondering if I could speak (via email) with you about living in Uruguay. My global marketing class is doing a project about Uruguay and I found your blog online and was hoping you could be of assistance!
    Let me know if you have the time, it would only be a questionnaire or so.
    Thank you,
    Amanda Glen

  11. Jennifer

    I have the opportunity to move to Uruguay in the near future with my Uruguayan boyfriend and my 2 children. My children aged 8 and 9 and I do not speak english. Of course, we will learn when we arrive but can you tell me is it difficult if you don’t speak spanish and do you know anything about schooling for non spanish speaking children. Love your blogs, thanks.

  12. Jennifer

    re; the above post…oops sorry, we do not speak spanish..hehe

  13. Michel

    I am thinking to leave Canada and move there here life is too fast pace and can’t take the cold weather anymore we may meet one day JAJAJAJA!

  14. Firegirl

    This is a very cool blog and very informative!! I’m doing a year abroad in South America and Uruguay is definitely one of my choices. Thanks for this!

  15. Manu

    Peanut butter is indeed available at Devoto

  16. Robert Shepard

    Hi I am planning on moving by the end of the year. I am 55 and just retired. This may sound odd but I have a couple classic chevy suburban’s. and a Harley. Can I export them. I speak very little Spanish but struggle with it LOL If you had your pic which town would you recommend. My email is Shepardgroupllc@yahoo and I am Bob Shepard. Do you have an English speaking realtor you could put me with.

  17. judi

    My husband and I are interested in spending next winter in Uruguay, perhaps to retire there. Can anyone who lives there help us find an apartment. Please reply,
    judi

Leave a Reply

